Skip To The Main Content

VIRTUAL LIQUID BRINE STRATEGY WORKSHOP

Join us Wednesday, October 28 for a half-day virtual event featuring demos, networking & classroom exercises

 

Adding brine to your ice management toolbox requires a careful approach that blends strategy, cost analysis, science and application best practices. In this 5-hour online event we’re going to dispel the myth that “Liquids just don’t work” with a mix of classroom exercises, live demonstrations, networking and more.

Date: October 28, 2020
Location: The comfort of your own office or home!
Cost: $200 Company Pass (Up to 3 people)

CURRICULUM & SCHEDULE

10:30 AM EST: THE BUSINESS CASE FOR LIQUIDS
9:30 AM CST // 8:30 AM MST

Jumping into liquids is a decision that shouldn’t be made lightly. Learn factors that should be considered to determine whether adding liquids, including making your own brine, is your next move. This includes cost savings, improved service, reduced salt use, environmental impact and more. You’ll receive a worksheet so you can calculate your own cost benefit analysis.

NOON EST: PRODUCT SHOWCASE
11:00 AM CST // 10:00 AM MST

Industry suppliers and manufacturers will be on hand to showcase the latest products for brine making and applications. You’ll also have time to network and ask questions with them and our subject matter experts during this time.

1 PM EST: FAIL-PROOFING YOUR LIQUIDS PROGRAM
NOON CST // 11:00 AM MST

“Liquids just don’t work” is a common mantra in the industry. Jordan Smith of VSI will share his perspective as a contractor and supplier to help identify common pain points associated with program failures. Learn when liquids work, when they don’t and common equipment troubleshooting for a more seamless integration.

2 PM EST: COSTS & SAVINGS OF IMPLEMENTATION
1:00 PM CST // 12:00 PM MST

Adding liquids to your operations will have costs attached from labor, materials, equipment, storage and more. But there are also cost savings that can be realized. We'll walk through those costs, including where you start and how to ramp up operations.

3 PM EST: Cornerstone Partners Horticultural Services Brine Tour
2:00 PM CST // 1:00 PM MST

The liquids champions for Cornerstone Partners Horticultural Services will take you on a tour of their liquids facility with a focus on storage, safety, tank filling, training and more.

FEATURED PRESENTERS

Jim “Turk” Turcan, CSP, ASM

Jim "Turk" Turcan

Cornerstone Partners Horticultural Services

Jordan Smith

Jordan-Smith

Voigt Smith Innovations (VSI)


EVENT PLATFORM

This workshop will be hosted in Remo – a platform great for small group networking!  Participants are able to share their camera and microphone with others around the table for a chance to converse and meet new people before/after the presentations.

Chrome or Firefox on a laptop or desktop will lead to the best experience in Remo; check out other supported browsers/devices here.

QUESTIONS

Contact Registration@sima.org with questions related to this event.  

Registered attendees should refer to their confirmation email to access the Event Dashboard that includes all access links, resources, etc for the event.